The Board of Directors of Georgia Equality is pleased to announce their endorsed candidates in the upcoming 2019 Municipal Elections.

The importance of electing fair-minded candidates in cities and counties around the state cannot be understated. In a time when the state and federal governments provide uncertain paths for nondiscrimination protections bills, we’re continuing to push for those protections at the municipal level. Atlanta, Chamblee, Clarkston, Doraville, and Dunwoody have already passed non-discrimination protections for their citizens, and we at Georgia Equality are working to see that list grow. Municipal elections are so important to our movement and every LGBTQ person and ally should vote this year.

In a period in which many people seeking elected office are supportive of the LGBT community, the Georgia Equality Board of Directors will issue an endorsement for a candidate who we feel is best placed to advance our policy agenda.  The lack of an endorsement should not necessarily be viewed as a negative reflection of a particular candidate’s views on LGBT issues in general.

This list of endorsed candidates is:

Mayor: John Ernst
District 3: Madeleine Simmons

City Council: Andrea Cervone

Mayor: Joseph Geierman
City Council District 1: Andy Yeoman

East Point
City Council Ward A: Davion Lewis
City Council Ward D: Erica Dean

Mayor: Van Johnson
At-Large Post 1: Kesha Gibson-Carter
At-Large Post 2: Tony Center
District 2: Bill Durrence(i)
District 3: Linda Wilder-Bryan
District 6: Kurtis Purtee

Early voting is happeneing now through November 1, 2019. For more information and to find out where to vote, please visit the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page.